Happy Birthday, Dad

Today would have been my dad’s 65th birthday today. But it wasn’t, because he passed away on July 19th of this year.

My father and I weren’t particularly close; he and my mother divorced when I was 6 and although I saw him regularly, we never had much in common and he wasn’t a particularly social person. I hadn’t seen him for nearly 3 years when I got the call that he was going into hospice care, but within days of receiving the news I flew to Connecticut to see him one last time.

While I was visiting him there a woman with a cart full of art supplies came by. She was some sort of art director or art therapist or something at the hospice. She told me I should make something for him, which kind of didn’t make sense since he was highly drugged up and, although I didn’t know it at that moment, had about 12 hours left to live. Still, my desire to express myself through art and distract myself with a colorful project won out, and I made a cut-paper piece that I ended up being quite please with. I showed it to him after I’d completed it, though I don’t know if he really saw it. We hung it up behind his bed, where I’m sure he never saw it again, and I don’t know what happened to it, but I did take a lone photo with my iPhone. Behold:

Hospice

 

So, Dad, happy birthday to you wherever you may be. It was odd not buying a birthday card for you. I’m sad you won’t be around to say happy birthday to me in a couple of weeks, too. I miss you despite all our differences. I think of things I want to email you about quite often, and then remember that you’re gone.

 

One thought on “Happy Birthday, Dad

  1. Love it. I didn’t know about the art therapist at hospice. I can’t help but think that was some higher power sending that therapist in your path. Instead it could have been someone else that would not have been as appropriate for you.
    Anyway, I love what you created and I wish your dad a happy birthday too!

Leave a Reply

