The Four Cornerstones of a Happy, Healthy Body Image: Introduction

I am not sure how I want to start this. I know I want to tell you that having a good body image is hard as a woman in the modern day world. There are constantly pictures, videos, gifs, vines, Pinterest boards, and Facebook pages that depict what a healthy, fit, sexy, confident woman “should” look like. I know from personal experience that it’s easy to fall down at the knees of those standards and think that to be attractive (to yourself, to your partner, to the world) you have to look like some fitspiration pin board. And the whole idea that any of us has to be attractive, period, is another topic for another day, but my point is that it’s easy to get sucked into the idea that there is only one way to look and if we don’t look like that it’s somehow a bad thing.

The other day before bed an idea suddenly popped into my head, and that idea was to jot down what I felt the cornerstones of a good, healthy body image are. My quick sketch on a piece of paper next to my bed turned into this:

Cornerstones_Picasa_120713

As you can see, the four cornerstones are Thought Control, Media Literacy, Body Movement, and Healthy Eating. What you get in the middle is a healthy, happy body image, the ability to give up dieting and restricting food groups or calories, and you free up time that you were spending obsessing about counting points or tracking grams of carbs for, you know, pursuing the passions you were put on this earth for.

Over the next couple of weeks I’m going to write about each of the cornerstones and why they’re important. I’m going to write about why being healthy has nothing to do with what your abs look like or whether or not you have cellulite. I’m probably going to write about how women self-objectify, or at least link to some articles that can explain it way better than I can, so you can become aware of if you’re doing it yourself. I’m going to tell you how not being aware of the messages the media is sending to you constantly (even as a grown woman!) reinforce the idea that you’re not good enough. I’m going to tell you that you’re capable of so, so much more, and that concentrating only on how you or your body looks is robbing your life of the joy you could be experiencing. Well, at least that’s what I hope to write about.

Sound good? Good. The first thing I’m going to tackle is what I’ve called Thought Control, which is all about how your thoughts impact your day to day life, how to notice them, and how to change them. Look for that post later this week.

One thought on “The Four Cornerstones of a Happy, Healthy Body Image: Introduction

Leave a Reply

