Weekend Projects 1/12/14

Back to art-making on the weekends! Between the holidays, traveling, and recovering from those two things, this is the first weekend I’ve felt up to doing anything creative.

Yesterday I worked on making sunset-like coverings for little glass candle holders.

Sunset_Candles_One Sunset_Candles_Three Sunset_Candles_Two(Glass turtle in the background is an ornament we bought in Hawaii.) Still not what I was envisioning. I tinted translucent polymer clay to make these, and I think next time I might leave some of the translucent clay un-tinted, then mix in and blend some colored clay in with it, and maybe even paint on some alcohol inks to the clay after it’s baked. I want the candles to really like like sunsets. Still, I’m happy enough with these for using around the house, and they look nice when it’s darker in the room, as they give off a nice yellow glow.

My other art project for the weekend was making something for a baby’s room. My sister-in-law just gave birth to an adorable baby boy at the end of December, and my husband and I are going to meet him next weekend. Although we’re giving him some other stuff, I thought it would be fun to make a little nameplate for his room. I saw pictures of his nursery on facebook, so I tried to match the colors to what I saw.

Jackson_Nameplate

I’m really happy with this! You’ll notice some little pin prick holes in the blue–I mapped out roughly where the letters and numbers should go, but I am going to figure out a way to get rid of them. I tried smoothing them a bit before I cured the clay, but wasn’t super successful. I think I’m going to use some of my superfine sandpaper to smooth it further. I will also put felt and a hemp on the back for hanging (like I did here). I want to make something like this for our baby, but I have a feeling her name may not be decided until she’s here with us, and I doubt I’ll be making anything out of polymer clay for some time after she arrives!

I made one more thing this weekend: whole wheat biscuits!

BiscuitMaking

I love this recipe; I just use all whole wheat flour, unsweetened vanilla almond milk, and instead of cutting the biscuits out with a biscuit cutter or drinking glass, I cut them into squares:

Biscuits

Can you see the layers? I love this recipe so much because you roll out the dough and fold it over a few times, which creates that neat layered effect. I had a couple of these with my eggs this morning, yum!

Well, I head to New Orleans in two days for a work trip, and I’m looking forward to seeing the French Quarter for the first time. Also to the beignets.

What did you make this weekend?

2 thoughts on “Weekend Projects 1/12/14

Leave a Reply

