Weekend Projects 01/26/14

Is it really Sunday already? I don’t really feel like I’ve done much, but the photographic evidence suggests otherwise. Let’s take a look at some of the things I did this weekend.

I finished this nameplate, which I had started last weekend:

Analise_Nameplate

This is for the soon-to-be-five-year-old daughter of one of my good friends. Since I made one for the big sister, I had to make one for the little sister (soon to be three!), too:

Eloise_Nameplate

Here are some photos that give a better sense of their size:

Analise_Nameplate_Sizing Eloise_Nameplate_Sizing

And here’s how they’re going to be hung (same all all the other stuff I’ve done lately):

Eloise_Nameplate_Backing Analise_Nameplate_Backing

I also did more work on this little polymer clay tree:

Jumble_Tree

Not sure this is done. I’m working on a series of four trees that will all be mounted together. None of them are done yet, but two are maybe close to being done. We’ll see.

I was also busy in the kitchen:

Sweet_Potato_Roast Lasagna Cocoa_Date_Coconut_Walnut_Bars

The top photo is some roasted veggies (sweet potato, kale, cherry tomatoes, onions, olive oil, salt), the center photo is a very spinach-filled lasagna, which is mostly for the husband, though I’m sure I’ll snag a piece, and on the bottom we have a two-layered chocolately treat. The bottom layer was made by pulsing together walnuts, dates, salt, shredded unsweetened coconut, and cocoa powder, which was then pressed into an 8×8 pan, and the top layer was made from more dates, some of the water the dates had been soaking in, and cocoa powder. I spread the top layer on and put the whole dealio in the freezer, then this morning I cut it up into rough pieces and stored it in another container. Well, I cut up what was left–I did snag a few bites straight from the pan last night. Do they taste like brownies? Um, no, but I’ve been on a major chocolate tear lately, and I figured I might as well provide myself and the bambino some nutrition while getting my chocolate fix, and these will do the trick.

And, last but not least, I finally opened my Etsy shop! Everything on there is stuff you’ve seen on the blog, but you can still check it out if you feel so inclined.

I think I am now done “working” for the weekend. We are going to go take a walk and run some errands and then I see myself on the couch for much of the day, because at 26 weeks pregnant I am feeling more and more, well, pregnant. It’s harder to get up from a sitting position and it’s harder to tie my shoes. Oh well, I know this is nothing, and I’m thankful for how easy my pregnancy has been thus far.

What did you do this weekend?

2 thoughts on “Weekend Projects 01/26/14

  1. Sitting here checking out what other polymer clay artists are up to, no I’m not the artist that would be my husband but still. Then you toss in pictures of FOOD. Thanks, now I’m hungry lol. Great post.

Leave a Reply

